All Governors and Viceroy of British India

Governor and Viceroy

Lord Canning (1858-1862)

  • First representative of the Crown – Viceroy, 5 per cent income tax on those earning more than Rs 500 per annum, established the first law commission.
  • The better government of India in 1858, under the law, took over all the power of the East India Company, the crown of Queen Victoria, the reorganization of the army, the British control over the artillery.
  • Passed the Bagal Rent Act in 1854 for the benefit of farmers.
  • The ‘Hindi Legislative Assembly Act of 1861’ is a great achievement of Canning.

Lord Elgin I (1862-1863)

  • Conflict between the British and the Wahhabis at Ambala Ghat in Punjab.

Sir Robert Napier (1863: Temporary) ️ ♦
Sir William Tennyson (1863: Temporary) ♦ ♦

Lord Lawrence (1864-1869)

  • The Punjab Tenancy Act (1868) and the Awadh Tenancy Act were adopted.
  • Completion of Bari Doab canal, appointment of Sanitary Commission to control diseases, appointment of AA Roberts for prison reform.
  • Appointment of Secretary to the Government A.M. Monteith to examine the state of education prevailing in 1865-66.

Lord Mayo (1869-1872)

Visit between Afghan Sher Ali and Mayo at Ambala, First Census (1871), Establishment of Agriculture Department. Mayo College in Ajmer and Rajkumar College in Rajkot, construction of Railway and Nehru against drought started

️ Sir John Strachey (1872: Temporary)
️ Lord Napier Merchistown (1872: Temporary)
️ Lord Northbook (1872- 1876) ️: –

  • In the wake of the Kuka movement in Punjab, income tax was abolished, the Suez Canal was opened, and government support for Sir Syed Ahmed’s plan to establish a Muslim aglo-vernacular college at Aligarh.
  • Government action taken against the famine in Bengal in 1874 and finally in 1875 the Prince of Wales visited India.

Lord Leighton (1876-1880)

  • Passed the Vernacular Press Act (1878) and the Indian Arms Act.
  • Aligarh University was founded, Queen Victoria was given the title of Empress of India.
  • Second Afghan War (1878-80), appointment of Sir Richard Strachey as President of the Drought Commission.

Lord Ripon (1880-1884)

  • Achieved the title of the father of local self-government, repeal of the Vernalpukar Press Act in 1882, appointment of Hunter Commission for Education (1882), establishment of Punjab University.
  • First Factory Act (1881), passing of the Elbat Bill – Debate over, Decentralization Amendment.

♦ Lord Dufferin (1884-1888)

  • Establishment of Hindi National General Assembly (1885), Third Burmese War (1885).

Lord Lansdowne (1888-1893)

  • Hindi Committees Act passed in 1892, Relations with Indigenous States like Manipur, Sikkim and Kashmir, New Factory Act (1891), Age Limit Act (1891), and Official Secrets Act of 1884 passed.

Lord Eglin II (1894-98: Temporary)
Lord Curzon (1899-19040)

  • Establishment of Agricultural Research Institute at Pusa in Bengal, Anthony MacDonald Commission appointed to take action against drought.
  • Appointment of Sir Thomas Ron as Chairman of the Education Commission (1904),
  • Partition of Bengal in 1905, formation of Northwest Frontier Province.
  • The first commission was Lieutenant Colonel Dean, involved in foreign affairs Afghanistan, Tibet etc., its functions can be summed up in one word: efficiency

️ Lord Amphithell (1904: Temporary)
Lord Curzon (second time 1904-05)

Lord Minto II (1905-1910)

  • Morle-Minto Reform (1909) Establishment of the Muslim League (1906). Lord Hardy’s II (1910-1916)
  • During King George’s visit to India in 1911, Delhi Darbar, Partition of Bengal was canceled and the capital was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi (1911).
  • Delhi became the capital from 1912.
  • Defined the Government of India’s policy on higher education of 1913.
  • Resolution of Sir Hakot Butler in 1913, on the basis of which the foundation of Benaras Hind University was laid – Founder Madan Mohan Malviya.
  • Mesopotamia scandal, Tilak in Poona and Homebull movement started by Anibest in Madras, incident of ‘Komgatu Maru’.

Lord Chelmsford (1996-1921)

  • Montague – Chelmsford Amendment (1919), Rowlatt Act, Jalliawala Bagh, End of World War I, Khilafah Movement and Non-Cooperation Movement, Saddler Commission on Education, Third Afghan War. ????????
  • The government has asked Dr. M.E. to study and prepare the University of Calcutta. Appointed ‘Cellar University Commission’.

Lord Reirdig (1921-1926)

  • Prior to his appointment, he served as Lord Chief Justice of England, striking and playing in many places during his tenure as Viceroy

Also Check Out :- Daily Current Affairs

  • The ‘swarajyavadis’ of the Congressmen who entered the government and disrupted the government from within – called CR Das, Motilal Nehru.
  • The report of the Moody’s Committee on the operation of ‘Diarchi’ in the province of Crimson under the new constitution was published.

Lord Lytton II (1925: Temporary)
Lord Irwin (1926-1931)

  • Appointment of the ‘Simon Commission’ (1927-30) in his time; Nationwide protests against which.
  • Declaration of Independence Day for India on 26th January 1903 by Krogres, fight for civil disobedience; Launched across the country, leader Mahatma Gandhi.
  • Appointment of an Auxiliary Committee by the Government in 1929 under the chairmanship of Sir Philip Hatog to address the dissatisfaction in the field of education.
  • The first round table conference was held in London in 1930, with the efforts of Sapru and Jayakar, the Gandhi-Irwin Agreement was signed in 1931, Nehru Report (1928). Lord Willingdon (1931-1936)
  • Prior to that he served as Governor of Mumbai and Madras from 1931 to 1924, and Governor General of Canada from 1926-30.

Join Us On Telegram For Gujarati Post :- Join Now

Governors and Viceroy

1 thought on “All Governors and Viceroy of British India”

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!